To the central content area
:::
:::

President & vice president :::

Vice President Chen
Vice President Chen

Mr. Chen Chien-jen was born in Cishan Township, Kaohsiung County (now merged into Kaohsiung City) in 1951. A veteran epidemiologist, he has made significant contributions to public health and infectious disease control as well as science and technology development in Taiwan. He is widely recognized for his crisis management skills and leadership abilities, as well as his open-mindedness and passion for communication.

Mr. Chen received his Bachelor Degree in Zoology (1973) and Master Degree in Public Health (1977) from National Taiwan University. In 1982, he received his Doctor of Science Degree in epidemiology and human genetics from Johns Hopkins University. His areas of expertise include epidemiology, human genetics, public health, and preventive medicine.

Mr. Chen then returned to Taiwan to serve in the following positions: associate professor (1983-1986) and professor (1986-2015) in National Taiwan University; director of the Graduate Institute of Public Health (1993-1994), founding director of the Graduate Institute of Epidemiology (1994-1997), and dean of the College of Public Health of National Taiwan University (1999-2002); Distinguished Research Fellow of the Genomics Research Center (2006-2015) and Vice President of Academia Sinica (2011-2015).

Mr. Chen's research on blackfoot disease, chronic arsenic poisoning, viral hepatitis and liver cancer, and oncogenic viruses has made a tremendous contribution to human health promotion and disease prevention. He was awarded the Academic Award (1997) and National Chair Professor (1997-2002) of the Ministry of Education. He was also elected Academician of Academia Sinica (1998), and awarded the Presidential Science Prize of Taiwan (2005) and the Executive Yuan's Outstanding Contribution in Science and Technology Award (2013). He has also been honored as a member of the World Academy of Sciences (2005), a foreign associate of US National Academy of Sciences(2017) and a Cutter Lecturer on Preventive Medicine of Harvard University (2008), and received the Knowledge for the World Award from Johns Hopkins University (2012) along with many other prestigious international awards.

Mr. Chen served as Director General of the Division of Life Sciences at the National Science Council (1997-1999), and later as the Council's Deputy Minister (2002-2003), promoting numerous national programs and cutting-edge research. During Taiwan's SARS outbreak in 2003, he was appointed Minister of Health, and successfully controlled the crisis in a short period. To enhance Taiwan's capabilities in public health and infectious disease control, Mr. Chen also actively promoted the organizational reengineering of the Department of Health and Centers for Disease Control, Department of Health; establishment of a national healthcare system for infectious diseases; amendments to the Communicable Disease Control Act; and fundamental reforms to the health insurance system.

After being appointed as Minister of the National Science Council in 2006, Mr. Chen reformed the Council to strengthen science and technology administration, promote Taiwan's knowledge-based economy, and broaden international cooperation. He has been awarded the Executive Yuan's Achievement Medal (First Rank) in 2005; the Department of Health's Health Medal (First Rank) in 2005; the Officier dans l'Ordre des Palmes Academiques from the Ministry of Education of France in 2009; and the Science Profession Medal (First Prize) from the National Science Council in 2012.

In 2011, Mr. Chen was appointed Vice President of Academia Sinica. During his tenure, he promoted the establishment of the Academia Sinica Research Fund, build up Taiwan Biobank, established the National Biotechnology Research Park at Nangang, and undertook the planning of Academia Sinica's southern branch. For his efforts, he was awarded the Special Service Medal of Academia Sinica (2016).

Mr. Chen is a devout Catholic, embracing the spirit of humble service and dedicated to putting the Christian doctrine of “loving God and your neighbor” into practice. The Vatican has invited Mr. Chen and his wife Ms. Lo Fong-ping to visit several times, where they have been received by Pope John Paul II, Pope Benedict XVI, and Pope Francis. He has been invested as a Knight of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem (2010) and a Knight of the Pontifical Equestrian Order of St. Gregory the Great (2013).

Vice President Chen's timeline

2017-10-21 Attends a forum that commemorates the 30th anniversary of the Taiwan Environmental Protection Union. Expresses hope that the whole nation will work together for Taiwan’s environment, making Taiwan a beacon of environmental protection.
2017-10-18 Meets with a delegation from the 5th Pacific Islands Leadership Program and states that by training young leaders from the island nations, we are investing in our future and helping allied nations, thereby creating a sense of regional community.
2017-10-17 Meets with a delegation led by Indonesian Ulema Council head Kyai Haji Ma’ruf Amin, and states that the government and the private sector are committed to fostering a Muslim-friendly environment so that Muslims from around the globe can feel the goodwill and respect Taiwan has for Islamic culture.
2017-10-15 Attends a tree-planting ceremony in Daan Forest Park to raise public awareness about poverty. States that the government bears full responsibility to address poverty in Taiwan, and expresses hope that the private sector will work with the government to help those with limited resources to pursue their dreams and turn their lives around.
2017-10-11 Hosts a luncheon to welcome Republic of Honduras Second Vice President Ava Rossana Guevara Pinto and her husband Julio Cesar Gonzalez Cordova. Expresses hope that Taiwan and Honduras will continue working together to boost the well-being and economic prosperity of people in both countries.
2017-09-25 Attends the National Hakka Conference and Hakka Contribution Award Presentation Ceremony of Year 2017. Explains what the government has done and accomplished in promoting Hakka culture and heritage to make it sustainable while diversifying and enriching Taiwan.
2017-09-18 Attends the closing ceremony of the 5th Asia-Oceania Mariological Conference. Expresses hope that Taiwan’s young people, as well as youth in Southeast Asian nations, can all find their “life project” through exchanges and efforts under the New Southbound Policy.
2017-09-16 Attends the 4th National Cultural Heritage Conservation Award ceremony, congratulates group winners and individual recipients, and expresses his utmost respect to those devoted to cultural heritage preservation.
2017-09-10 Attends the Youth Summit and emphasizes that it’s essential for young people to participate in public policy. Encourages young people to make “life values” their premise, and “contributing to society” their starting point, to make public participation more meaningful.
2017-09-07 Attends the closing ceremony of the 2017 Bio Taiwan Committee organized by Executive Yuan’s Office of Science and Technology. Expresses hope that through cross-agency integration, comprehensive infrastructure and regulations, and more dynamic innovation, Taiwan’s biomedical industry will reach new milestones and usher in a new era.
2017-08-30 Attends the closing of the 2017 Taipei Summer Universiade and lauds all the athletes for challenging their own limits, and letting the world experience their positive energy. Expresses thanks to the people of Taiwan for actively supporting the event, showing the world that Taiwan has the ability to host international competitions and can be a great host.
2017-08-23 Visits Estelle Wilkerson Dementia Daycare Center and Nandain Community Development Association in Changhua County. Expresses hope that the public and government will work together to create senior-friendly communities, and through community care stations, create environments that allow senior citizens to remain active and healthy while ageing in place.
2017-08-09 Meets with a delegation of Taiwan’s team attending the 2017 Summer Deaflympics held in Samsun, Turkey. Praises the athletes for their efforts and notes that the government will continue to collaborate with the private sector to develop policies and systems that will transform Taiwan into an island with a thriving sports culture, enhancing Taiwan’s international image.
2017-07-28 Visits long-term care stations and child care centers in Kaohsiung City. He praises the local government for their efforts to encourage aging in place, and expresses hope that the public will work with the government to take care of senior citizens and children. He then visits a day care center and a community care station in Tainan City, encouraging the city government to continue promoting the Long-Term Care 2.0 Plan while incorporating local characteristics, thus becoming a bellwether of national long-term care efforts.
2017-07-14 Attends flag conferral ceremony for the Taiwan team that will take part in the 2017 Summer Deaflympics to be held in Samsun, Republic of Turkey. He confers a national flag and a team flag on our delegation, hoping the athletes transcend their limitations, reach new heights, and return in triumph.
2017-07-12 Attends the 2017 FIABCI-Taiwan Real Estate Excellence awards ceremony and expresses hope that the central government, local governments and private enterprises will continue communicating and working together to make buildings that meet social needs and reflect Taiwan’s human-centered architecture.
2017-07-06 Attends the Industrial Technology Research Institute Laureates Award Ceremony and encourages the laureates to use their collective wisdom to continue making recommendations to the government, enhancing Taiwan’s industrial productivity and building a new innovation-driven economy.
2017-07-05 Visits a community rehabilitation station in Keelung City and stresses that the government will coordinate resources to integrate care management models to meet community needs and develop local, diversified, integrated services. He expresses hope that everyone will work together to ensure the health and quality life of our senior citizens.
2017-06-29 Attends the opening of Bio Taiwan 2017, and stresses that the government will provide resources and policy support to make the biotech industry the new engine of Taiwan's economic development, hoping that the industry can help provide many people with a better life, and spur regional industrial innovation.
2017-06-13 Attends the ninth Government Service Quality Award Ceremony, and urges civil servants to serve with passion, respond effectively to the public's needs, and provide effective and high-quality public services, working together to forge a brighter future.
2017-06-08 Attends activities marking World Oceans Day 2017—Restoration of Marine Habitats, and expresses hope that by making people more aware of the importance of cultivating national fishery resources, the conservation of natural habitats, and sustainable use, Taiwan can become a healthy, beautiful, and prosperous maritime country.
2017-06-02 Attends the launch ceremony for a children and youth education development fund, noting that no child's development opportunities should be limited by family economic conditions, and that it is the nation's responsibility to cultivate them so they can develop their limitless possibilities.
2017-06-01 Attends the inauguration of Taiwan Biotechnology Industry Alliance, and expresses hope that the government and private sector will work together to make Taiwan the hub of biomedical R&D in the Asia-Pacific region, and develop biomedicine into an NT-trillion-dollar industry.
2017-05-19 Interviewed by "Time" magazine and elaborates on Taiwan's contributions and achievements in global health and healthcare; urges that the World Health Organization abide by its constitution and universal application principle so that Taiwan can continue making contributions to global health-related activities.
2017-05-05 Attends the opening of 2017 Taipei Tourism Exposition and stresses that the government will deliver a new sustainable tourism strategy that aims to achieve five key objectives: diversifying tourism markets, promoting domestic travel, assisting industrial transformation, developing smart tourism, and enhancing tourism experience, all of which strive to upgrade and transform Taiwan's tourism.
2017-05-02 Elected as foreign associate of the US National Academy of Sciences, indicating that the efforts and distinguished achievements made by Taiwan's researchers in their respective areas have been recognized in the international academic community.
2017-04-19 Delivers remarks at the opening ceremony of 2017 Creative Expo Taiwan and expresses hope that the Expo will serve as a platform for exchanges among cultural and creative enterprises in Taiwan and around the world, thereby further elevating Taiwan's cultural power and building up our country's soft power.
2017-03-29 Convenes an initial dialogue between representatives of groups on both sides of the same-sex marriage issue, to discuss the establishment of a platform for communication on values.
2017-03-02 Attends a ceremony marking the official opening of the Taoyuan Airport MRT, and bears witness to the formation of a one-hour rail link connecting Taipei City, New Taipei City, and Taoyuan City into one metropolitan sphere.
2017-02-28 Attends the communion service entitled “Compassion and Justice-Commemorating the 70th Anniversary of 228 Incident,” and prays for the victims and their families; expresses hope that Taiwan can learn the lessons from the incident, walk toward reconciliation, and practice the transitional justice, so that this nation will become a paradise of justice and peace.
2017-01-25 Attends launch ceremony of the Center of Biomedical Industry Innovation Program.
2017-01-22 Presides over the National Congress on Pension Reform.
2017-01-16 Attends the opening ceremony of the international review committee meeting for the Second National Reports under the ICCPR and ICESCR.
2017-01-13 Attends the 2017 National Conference of University and College Presidents, and holds discussions with the participants.
2016-12-31 Accompanies President Tsai to attend a year-end press conference for the domestic and international news media.
2016-12-29 Convenes the 25th meeting of the Presidential Office Human Rights Consultative Committee.
2016-12-25 Attends the launch ceremony of the Asian Silicon Valley Development Agency.
2016-11-11 Convenes the 24th meeting of the Presidential Office Human Rights Consultative Committee.
2016-11-02 Convenes the first meeting of a task force to nominate candidates for vacancies in the fifth Control Yuan.
2016-10-28 Meets with Tuvalu Deputy Prime Minister Maatia Toafa.
2016-10-28 Meets with Kiribati Vice President Kourabi Nenem.
2016-10-10 Attends the ROC's 105th Double Tenth National Day Celebration.
2016-10-03 Accompanies President Tsai to meet with visiting Honduran President Juan Orlando Hernandez Alvarado and his wife.
2016-09-05 Meets Vatican Secretary of State Cardinal Pietro Parolin.
2016-09-05 Attends the canonization of Mother Teresa.
2016-09-02 Departs on a trip to the Holy See.
2016-08-31 Publishes an open letter on pension reform.
2016-08-26 Convenes the 23rd meeting of the Presidential Office Human Rights Consultative Committee.
2016-08-18 Meets with Dominican Republic President Danilo Medina Sanchez.
2016-08-13 Embarks on a trip to visit Dominican Republic.
2016-07-22 Convenes the 22nd meeting of the Presidential Office Human Rights Consultative Committee.
2016-06-23 Convenes the first meeting of the Presidential Office Pension Reform Committee.
2016-06-15 Convenes the first task force meeting for selecting the ROC Grand Justices.
2016-05-20 Sworn in as the 14th-term Vice President.
Code Ver.:F201708221923 & F201708221923.cs
Code Ver.:201709201449 & 201709201449.cs

跳到主要內容區塊
:::
:::

總統與副總統 :::

副總統玉照(由總統府提供)
陳建仁 副總統

陳建仁先生在1951年出生於高雄縣旗山鎮,長期致力於流行病學研究,對臺灣的衛生防疫和科技發展有傑出貢獻。其危機處理、領導統御、開闊胸襟與溝通熱忱,深獲各界肯定。

陳建仁先生畢業於國立臺灣大學動物學系(1973),和公共衛生研究所碩士班(1977),並取得美國約翰霍普金斯大學理學博士學位(1982)。專長為流行病學、人類遺傳學、公共衛生及預防醫學。

自美返國後,擔任國立臺灣大學副教授(1983-1986)、教授(1986-2015)、公共衛生研究所所長(1993-1994)、流行病學研究所創所所長(1994-1997)、公共衛生學院院長(1999-2002);中央研究院基因體研究中心特聘研究員(2006-2015)、副院長(2011-2015)。

陳建仁先生在烏腳病與慢性砷中毒、病毒肝炎與肝癌、其他致癌病毒的傑出研究,對人類的健康促進與疾病防治有卓越貢獻,深受國際矚目。曾獲頒教育部學術獎(1997)及國家講座(1997-2002)、中央研究院院士(1998)、總統科學獎(2005)、行政院傑出科技貢獻獎(2013);以及世界科學院院士(2005)、美國國家科學院外籍院士(2017)、美國哈佛大學Cutter預防醫學講座(2008)、美國約翰霍普金斯大學Knowledge for the World獎(2012)等國內外重要獎項。

陳建仁先生曾擔任國家科學委員會生物科學發展處長(1997-1999)及副主任委員(2002-2003),推動多項國家型計畫與尖端研究。2003年臺灣面臨SARS流行的嚴峻考驗時,臨危受命擔任行政院衛生署署長,成功領導臺灣迅速遏止疫情擴散,積極推動衛生署和疾病管制局組織再造,建置全國感染症醫療體系,修訂《傳染病防治法》,改革健保體制,提升臺灣的衛生防疫能力及醫療品質。

2006年,陳建仁先生接任行政院國家科學委員會主任委員,修訂《行政院國家科學委員會組織法》,推升臺灣知識經濟,拓展國際科技合作。他曾獲行政院一等功績獎章(2005)、衛生署一等衛生獎章(2005)、法國教育部棕櫚學術勳章(2009)、以及國科會一等科學專業獎章(2012)。

2011年擔任中央研究院副院長,推動成立中研院科學研究基金、設置臺灣生物資料庫、建設南港國家生技研究園區、規劃中研院南部院區等多項工作,曾獲中央研究院特等服務獎章(2016)。

陳建仁先生是虔誠的天主教友,秉持謙卑服務的精神,努力實踐「愛主愛人」的基督訓導。曾多次和夫人羅鳳蘋女士獲邀前往梵蒂岡,受到教宗若望保祿二世、本篤十六世和方濟各的接見;並獲封耶路撒冷聖墓騎士團騎士(2010)及宗座聖大額我略爵士(2013)之榮譽。

106年09月25日 出席「106年全國客家會議暨客家貢獻獎頒獎典禮」,說明政府推動客家政策之相關作為與成果,期盼客家文化能源遠流長,讓臺灣更多元、更豐富。
106年09月18日 出席「第五屆亞洲大洋洲地區聖母學國際研討會」閉幕晚宴,期盼臺灣與新南向國家的青年,能透過新南向政策的各項交流,找到自己的「人生計畫」。
106年09月16日 出席「第四屆國家文化資產保存獎」頒獎典禮,祝賀得獎單位及得獎人,也向全心奉獻投入文化資產保存工作者致敬。
106年09月10日 出席「青年好政高峰會」,強調公共政策需要年輕人的參與。期勉青年以「生命價值」為前提,以「為社會貢獻什麼」為出發點,使公共參與更有意義。
106年09月7日 出席行政院科技會報辦公室「生技產業策略諮議委員會議」閉幕典禮,期許透過跨部會之整合,完善基礎設施及法規,加速創新,讓臺灣的生醫產業邁向新里程、新時代。
106年08月30日 出席「2017年臺北世界大學運動會閉幕典禮」,肯定所有選手挑戰自我極限,讓全世界感受到正面能量,也感謝所有臺灣人民以行動支持世大運,向世界展現臺灣具有承辦國際大型賽會的實力,更證明了我們是最好的主人。
106年08月23日 參訪彰化縣「魏愛倫學苑失智日照中心」及「南佃社區發展協會」,期盼國人與政府同心協力,為守護及照顧年長者建立友善社區的美好環境,透過社區照顧關懷據點服務,實踐「活躍老化、在地老化、健康老化」的目標。
106年08月9日 接見「2017年薩姆松第23屆夏季達福林匹克運動會」代表團有功人員,除嘉勉大家的努力,並表示政府將持續與民間合作,完備各項政策與制度,逐步將臺灣打造成健康快樂的運動島,提升臺灣進步的國際形象。
106年07月28日 參訪高雄長照及育兒中心,肯定地方政府落實在地老化精神的努力,也希望民眾能與政府同心協力,為照顧長者及幼兒共同打拼;嗣參訪臺南市日間照顧中心及社區關懷據點,期勉市政府繼續努力推動長照2.0、創造地方特色,使該市成為全國長照的領頭羊。
106年07月14日 出席「2017土耳其薩姆松第23屆聽障達福林匹克運動會」代表團授旗典禮,親授國旗及團旗予我代表團,並預祝選手們超越極限,登峰造極,凱旋歸來。
106年07月12日 出席「2017國家卓越建設獎頒獎典禮」,期盼未來中央、地方與民間企業相互溝通與努力,打造符合社會需求、代表臺灣在地的人本建築。
106年07月6日 出席「工研院院士授證暨菁英頒獎典禮」,期勉院士能以集體智慧,持續向政府提供建言,提升臺灣產業生產力,一同打造創新驅動的新經濟。
106年07月5日 參訪基隆市社區復健站,強調政府將統籌資源,依照社區需求來整合照顧管理模式,並發展在地化及多元化綜合服務,期盼大家共同努力,讓國人老後生活更健康、有品質。
106年06月29日 出席「臺灣生技月Bio Taiwan 2017」開幕典禮,強調政府將投入資源與政策支持,讓生技產業成為臺灣經濟發展新引擎,期能照顧人民福祉,並帶動區域產業創新。
106年06月13日  出席「第九屆政府服務品質獎頒獎典禮」,期許公務夥伴懷抱服務熱忱,有效回應民眾需求,提供高效能與高品質的公共服務,共同將國家帶向更美好的未來。
106年06月08日 出席「2017世界海洋日-海洋棲地復育活動」,希望喚起國人對國家水產資源培育、棲地保育及永續利用的重視,讓臺灣成為健康、美麗、年年有魚的海洋國家。
106年06月02日 出席「兒童少年未來教育及發展帳戶啟動儀式」表示,每個孩子的發展機會都不應該受到家庭經濟條件的限制,國家有責任栽培他們發展出無限可能。
106年06月01日  出席「台灣生技醫藥產業聯盟成立大會」,期許未來政府與民間共同努力,打造臺灣成為「亞太生醫研發重鎮」,讓臺灣生醫產業成為「兆元產業」。
106年05月15日 接受美國《時代雜誌》(Time)專訪,闡述臺灣對全球公衛及衛生醫療的貢獻與成果,呼籲世界衛生組織遵守其憲章和普世適用原則,讓臺灣為全球健康持續做出貢獻。
106年05月05日 出席「臺北國際觀光博覽會」開幕典禮,強調政府今年將啟動臺灣永續觀光發展策略,以「開拓多元市場、活絡國民旅遊、輔導產業轉型、發展智慧觀光及推廣體驗觀光」5大策略,持續促進臺灣觀光產業優化轉型。
106年05月02日 榮獲美國國家科學院(National Academy of Sciences)2017年外籍院士殊榮,展現臺灣的研究者在學術領域上的努力與貢獻受到國際矚目。
106年04月19日 出席「2017臺灣國際文化創意產業博覽會」開幕典禮,期望以文博會做為臺灣文創產業與國際交流的平臺,進一步提升臺灣文化力、厚植國家軟實力。
106年03月29日 邀請對同婚議題不同立場的團體代表對話,就建立價值溝通平臺進行初步溝通。
106年03月02日 出席機場捷運通車典禮,見證「北北桃形成一小時軌道生活圈」。
106年02月28日 參加「慈悲與正義二二八事件70週年和好禮拜」,為二二八受難者及家屬祈禱,願臺灣社會記取教訓、走向和解,真正實踐轉型正義,成為公義與和平的樂土。
106年01月25日 出席生醫產業創新推動方案執行中心揭牌典禮。
106年01月22日 出席年金改革國是會議全國大會。
106年01月16日 出席兩公約第二次國家報告國際審查會議開幕式。
106年01月13日 出席106年全國大專院校校長會議,與各大專校院校長對談。
105年12月31日 出席與中外記者茶敘。
105年12月29日 主持人權諮詢委員會第25次會議。
105年12月25日 出席「亞洲・矽谷」計畫執行中心揭牌典禮。
105年11月11日 主持人權諮詢委員會第24次會議。
105年11月02日 主持第五屆監察委員補提名審薦小組第一次會議。
105年10月28日 接見吐瓦魯國副總理陀阿法。
105年10月28日 接見吉里巴斯副總統芮南。
105年10月10日 出席中華民國中樞暨各界慶祝105年國慶大會。
105年10月03日 陪同總統會晤宏都拉斯總統伉儷。
105年09月05日 會晤教廷國務院長帕洛林樞機主教(Pierto Card. Parolin)
105年09月05日 參加德勒莎修女封聖典禮。
105年09月02日 「聖和專案」啟程出訪教廷。
105年08月31日 發表國民年金改革之公開信 。
105年08月26日 主持人權諮詢委員會第23次會議。
105年08月18日 晉見多明尼加總統梅迪納(Danilo Medina)
105年08月13日 「仁翔專案」啟程訪問友邦多明尼加共和國 。
105年07月22日 主持人權諮詢委員會第22次會議。
105年06月23日 主持「總統府國家年金改革委員會」第一次委員會議。
105年06月15日 主持 105年司法院大法官提名審薦小組會議第一次會議。
105年05月20日 宣誓就任中華民國第14任副總統 。
Code Ver.:F201708221923 & F201708221923.cs
Code Ver.:201708160925 & 201708160925.cs